30 Weeks and Sonogram

Standard

We went in for our 30 week sono on Thursday and not surprisingly, Luke did not cooperate very well!  He is laying head down (which is perfect for delivery) – his head is basically resting on my pelvic bone on the right, his body then curls back across my stomach to the left and his legs come back around to the right under my ribs.  He is basically in a U shape just sideways.  Unfortunately for the sonogram, the back of his head is what you could see, he is facing backwards, he did turn his face and we could very briefly see his profile and then a little of his face, but because he is so low it wasn’t a great picture.  We could see his eye sockets and he did blink a few times.  We also noticed a sort of “halo” around his head and when she zoomed in, you could see that he has a little patch of hair standing straight up!  At one point he had the hiccups so his little boy was shaking like crazy, and of course he did his usual kicks and punches.  To watch the sono ( Ryan added some special touches), click below:

My mom got here Tuesday so she could go with us because she has not seen any of the sonograms, so that was fun.  On Wednesday she and I went to order his nursery furniture, I can’t wait to get it, I absolutely love it, I’m so excited.  The ship date is March 28 (the day Luke is due).  So I’m hoping it may come a little early, we just didn’t want it to come too early while we were still in the condo.  So I’m sure it will work out perfect.

Luke's crib and hutch

Baby’s now the size of a squash!
As baby’s skin smoothes out, his brain just keeps getting more wrinkled. All those grooves and indentations increase surface area, meaning more room for that oh-so-essential brain tissue.  He’s also adding some brawn — his grip is now strong enough to grasp a finger.

Although he is supposed to be just now around 3 pounds, the sono tech was able to determine that he weighs 3 pounds 14 ounces – he’s gonna be a big boy!

 

 

Well, that’s it for now.  We will have another sonogram at 34 weeks and then at 36 weeks – we are almost there!!

About foxfamilyupdate

I am a wife and soon to be mom!! We are from Texas, but just moved to California for my husband to have his dream job. I am a photographer, but taking some time off with the move and our new arrival coming...

One response »

  1. I love the sono … especially Ryan’s special features. 😉 The baby furniture is awesome! His room is going to look amazing! I can’t wait to come see it. Love you!

Leave a Reply

